Randomblings: Random ramblings on your Wednesday

28 Nov

Wow, my attempt at National Blog Posting Month this year amounted to a gigantic fail.

I need to make a pledge to myself, and whoever follows this blog:  I will post at least once per week going forward.  Daily is clearly too much for me to handle so I’m not even going to promise that.

That being said, let’s get down to brass tacks, as they say.

Premature electrocution?:  This story and its follow-up in recent editions of the Athens Banner-Herald caught my attention and my giggle button.  Lack of originality excused (I mean, come on, what reasonable teenager with a Taser wouldn’t come up with the same thing), the circumstances behind the Taser-er’s arrest are worth a giggle or two.  Thankfully no one was hurt but I’m sure the man’s Taser simulation was a bit shocking…

Okay, I’m done.   Props, by the way, to Jace for the “premature electrocution” and “shocking” puns.

Anchors behaving badly:  Amanda Davis, longtime anchor for Fox 5 News here in Atlanta, was arrested on Nov. 11 (not a worknight) after a DUI.  She has not appeared on TV since and is on a leave of absence from Fox 5.  Doug Richards, a former Fox 5 employee and current reporter for WXIA, the NBC station here, wrote an excellent blog entry regarding Davis’s arrest.  From my own observation, the media in Atlanta (including Davis’s own station) have covered the story thoroughly and respectfully, which is what should be expected in a situation like this.

Go Dawgs!:  If this is, in fact, my only blog for this week, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the upcoming Southeastern Conference (SEC) football championship game this weekend in Atlanta.  The #2 Alabama Crimson Tide will travel to the Georgia Dome in Atlanta to take on the #3 (and far-less-traveled) Georgia Bulldogs.  Georgia has been to the dance before, most recently last year, when they suffered a major defeat at the hands of the now-dethroned Honey Badger and the LSU Tigers.

Even if UGA wasn’t playing in this game, I would root for them — or more exactly against the Tide, because of their head coach, Nick Saban.  Saban was the head coach of my personal favorite team, the Michigan State Spartans from 1995 to 1999, before bolting for LSU…who he then abandoned for the NFL’s Miami Dolphins…who he then jilted after just two seasons to go to Alabama.  In fact, this is his sixth season in Tuscaloosa — a record stay for the wander-lusting coach, in his 41st year coaching college or pro football.

I am a fan of loyalty.  Saban’s abrupt departure from Michigan State in 1999 (which started a seven-year decline for the Spartan program) has left a bad taste for Saban in my mouth, one that still lingers today.

So, Go Dawgs Saturday!  Beat the Tide!

2 Responses to “Randomblings: Random ramblings on your Wednesday”

  1. Brandon Foreman November 28, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    That Taser story was pretty funny. He might be pretty drunk to do that.

    Good luck on your weekly postings :)

  2. the blizzard wizard November 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    you do know electrocution means death by electric shock right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

