NaBloPoMo Day 1: What’s your favorite part about writing?

1 Nov

As many of my followers undoubtedly know, I write in many ways and many fashions.

I’m a journalist.  That’s my first love.  As the Editor of the Classic City Courier, I had the opportunity to write about several issues — both from a factual and an editorial perspective.  I was also responsible for providing the “official wedding announcement” for my Aunt and Uncle when they got married in Tennessee last May, in this capacity.

I’ve always been a writer though.  I was writing to a nearly 12th-grade level from at least fifth grade on, but that’s really the first time I was actually TOLD I was, I’ve always been a reader, and always will be, if I have anything to do with it.

So that tells my history, but doesn’t answer much for what I LIKE about writing.

Writing, relatively speaking, provides for greater prose than the spoken word.  When we are speaking, the tone or volume in which we say things can impact how it is received by our listener.  Spoken word is unedited, it is raw, and the opportunity to misspeak or otherwise cause crossed wires or mixed signals is far greater.

Writing, on the other hand, is more prepared, more polished, and more poetic in many ways than raw spoken words.  Writing has a backspace or delete key, which allows for you to edit and finesse your writing to a point that you are saying exactly what you want to before you print, send, or publish.  Writing is also permanent, as we still have copies of written documents written thousands of years ago.

That’s not to say that writing doesn’t have its downfalls.  Because people cannot hear your voice, or volume, or inflection, misunderstandings can be far more prevalent and far more damaging.

I like writing a lot.  I like giving writing as “gifts” to family and friends, as I use my writing often to tell them how I feel about them, or why they are special to me.

4 Responses to “NaBloPoMo Day 1: What’s your favorite part about writing?”

  1. Brandon Foreman November 1, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I am not much of a speaker.
    I prefer writing than speaking but I do see your point that writing does have its ups and downs. You seem to be a very good writer, Brian.

    • Brian Smith November 1, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      Either method has its ups and downs, really, so I’m glad I’m pretty comfortable with either or.

  2. Jaguwar November 1, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I actually prefer to write as well, precisely because it gives me a chance to finesse my thoughts. It also allows a chance for deeper introspection. Speaking is spontaneous, off the cuff, and frankly dangerous. Foot-in-mouth disease is less likely to occur accidentally when you write.

    As a deliberate action, however, it can be devastating.

  3. Larissa T. December 15, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I agree with Jaguwar, however I love the spontaneous trait in speech. When one has time to prepare a speech, one has time to finesse it as well. (Although that’s not always guaranteed if you’re like me, I end up getting off track no matter how ugh finessing has been done.)
    Like you brian, I’m comfortable with either or. Although I mostly prefer writing, because of its mostly guaranteed safeness.

Leave a Reply

