NaBloPoMo for Nov. 4: Vacation

4 Nov

Depending on your station in life, vacation can have a number of meanings.

Growing up, and living with my upper-middle-class parents, “vacations” meant summer trips to our family’s cottage in northern Michigan.  Winter trips were to Florida and Jekyll Island, Georgia when I was younger, and Mexico and the Dominican Republic as I grew older.

Those trips were nice and all, but especially the winter/spring break trips always felt like I got out of school, went on vacation, came home and went back to school.  It was relaxing and in some cases luxurious, but there was always some degree of time lost, especially after long plane rides in both directions.

After I left home, and threw askew my parents’ money to fend for myself, I haven’t really had much in the way of vacations in terms of how they were growing up.  I go back to Michigan once or twice a year (on my parents’ time) and last year at spring break Jace, Daniel and I went to Savannah.  But I’ve spent several of my vacations either moving (EW!) or just relaxing.

I bring this up because I’m actually on vacation this week.  It’s the start of Friday now, so I have the rest of today, tomorrow, and then I’m back to it.  I have pretty much done nothing this week — didn’t go anywhere, or do anything outlandish, just relaxed.  And it’s felt GOOD.  I have rather enjoyed having zero obligations and zero plans for the week.

One Response to “NaBloPoMo for Nov. 4: Vacation”

  1. Brandon Foreman November 4, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Well, I hope you enjoyed your vacation.
    Sometimes, a week of nothingness is a good week.

Leave a Reply

