What do we do?

9 Sep

Today’s post is inspired by my return to Our Hope MCC, an LGBT-friendly church here in Athens, GA.  Now, fair warning to all of you, this post is somewhat about religion and somewhat about politics, but it is not, at the same time.

My question for you, my readers is this.  What have you done today?  I’m not talking menial tasks like laundry or napping or video-games or however you choose to spend your Sunday.  Think of things you’ve done to help your fellow man (or woman or animal or vegetable or mineral).  We all do them — or we should.  Today I went to church with my sister-in-law.  Then I went to the Athens Pride 2012 picnic with my sister-in-law and boyfriend (I was actually working, I’ll get to that in a future entry.)  I attended both events with the intent to serve — Church to serve God, and the picnic to serve the community through my writing (gosh, I keep getting ahead of myself on that particular point.)

Too many people live today with the “What about me?” attitude.  If that sounds like you, I want you to STOP.  No no, where are you going, I meant FULL STOP, RIGHT NOW, RIGHT HERE.  Come up with a list of three things you can do in the next week to help someone else.

Even though I feel like I did pretty well today, I will start.

  1. Hold or get the door for someone.  This is a lost art of chivalry.  We’re all in too much of a hurry to get where we need to go that we become selfish, crazed individuals.  Take a second and look around.  Maybe that mother behind you juggling a car seat with keys and the groceries she wants to return could benefit from you getting the door for her (or a vacation, but I don’t expect you to pay for that.)  I’m guilty of this one too, so that’s the first thing on my list.
  2. Compliment someone.  You never know if your “I like your dress” or “nice hairdo” comment, when coupled with a smile, might make someone’s day, or at the very least improve a less-than-ideal one.  Be extra-careful with this one, because if you decide you like the flowers on an unknown woman’s flower-print dress, they may call the police rather than take it as a compliment if you stop to sniff them and then tell her you like her flowers.
  3. Keep excuses to yourself.  Nobody’s perfect.  There are (usually) good reasons for not doing something.  But please don’t make excuses.  Reasons are one thing, excuses are another.  Nine times out of 10, when we don’t do something we’re asked to do or we commit to doing, we make an excuse.  So don’t let me hear excuses from you.  I’ll work on doing what I say I’m going to, or having a darn good reason for doing it.

All of these are simple ways to serve ourselves and serve others.  Just some food for thought to start your week.

3 Responses to “What do we do?”

  1. Brandon Foreman September 9, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    You are so right. It just seem like society in general is becoming too selfish these days.

  2. Angelyn September 9, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    I think Pastor Renee would be very happy with you and what you took away from her sermon this week. Here’s my list of things for the following week:

    1. Contact each of my remaining family members and tell them how much I love them and how much they mean to me. I do this frequently with my in-laws, there is absolutely no reason not to do it with my father and brother.

    2. Stop to consider how my day is better than someone else’s. When I do this, the complaining will be minimized or cease to exist altogether. I have a job that pays my bills, people I enjoy working with, a car to get to my job and back, and the ability to work period. Times could be much worse for me.

    3. Help others see what they have is not so bad. It’s very easy to complain and gripe about what we don’t have and not stop to look at what we do have. As I said in my comment above, I have lots of things that some people in this country do not have. In addition, I have a roof over my head, an exquisite fiancee who loves me more than anything in the world, an amazing family and extended family, and wonderful friends who make me feel like a million bucks, even when I’m only worth a dollar. Reminding others of what they have will hopefully make them realize that just because they don’t have the latest iPhone doesn’t mean that they have nothing.

    Peace and love all.

    • Brandon Foreman September 10, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      I really, really need to do #1 too. I know that I have my loving family, even though I don’t say that I love them often. Simple words can lighten up their day. Well, I pretty much agree with your list of things too, Angelyn.

Leave a Reply

