My new gig

10 Sep

Alright, I promised that I would explain this more thoroughly, so here we go.

In November 2009, Southern Voice, Atlanta’s leading LGBT newspaper, abruptly shut down when its owner, Window Media, went out of business.

As a journalist and a gay man, I contacted the publisher of SoVo, offering my journalistic services to any future publication that might be in the works.

I didn’t receive a reply at the time — or at all, in fact, until last week. Publisher Laura Douglas-Brown, now the Editor of The Georgia VoiceSoVo‘s successor, an online LGBT newspaper, contacted me, and asked if I would cover yesterday’s Athens Pride picnic as a freelance journalist.  700 words, 10-15 pictures, and my first paying gig in journalism.

Ms. Douglas-Brown also invited me to continue to pitch ideas for stories for me to cover for the publication, as well as adding me to their pool of “regular” freelance journalists.

I readily accepted, and spent yesterday afternoon covering the picnic.  It was great fun and I assure you I will share my story as soon as I work out the kinks. I also left Pride with ideas for two Athens-based stories I plan to pitch as soon as I’m finished with this first one.

So there you have it, my new gig.  Thanks to all of you for your support!

One Response to “My new gig”

  1. Brandon Foreman September 10, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    That’s wonderful, Brian.
    I hope your gig will last.
    I think you are a good journalist.

Leave a Reply

