2013

14 Jan

Well, I’m guessing I’m not doing too badly.  In my life, I’ve survived four brain surgeries, The Rapture, and the Mayan Apocalypse.  Not too shabby…

Either way, we’re on to 2013, which means New Year’s Resolutions.

This year I resolve to…

  1. Read more:  Reading used to be one of my favorite past-time activities and I haven’t done it near enough lately.  Reading soon to come includes finishing Stephen King’s 11/22/63 and reading V is for Vengeance, the latest in Sue Grafton’s “alphabet series.”
  2. Sleep better:  My sleep patterns need to be more consistent.  Some nights I’ll sleep as many as 12 hours, other nights as few as five.  I need to find my way back to the pleasant middle ground.  Some of that includes…

  3. Getting off of overnights:  Some of what is screwing me up from a sleep perspective is the fact that my sleep schedule is all over the map.  I work daytime shifts on some of Monday through Wednesday, and then most weeks overnight Thursday night, Friday night, and Saturday night.  When you have a shift ending at 6 p.m. one day and another beginning at 11 p.m. a few days later, it’s difficult to find a sense of normalcy.
  4. New job?:  I’ve been working at the same place for almost six and a half years now, a period fraught with ups and downs, but overall a good period.  The issue I’m having is that, from both an hours and a skills standpoint, I seem to be reaching the ceiling there.  They don’t hand out full-time status willy-nilly, so despite my years of experience, finding consistently high hours is a bit of a struggle.  I’ve reached Front End Supervisor, and the position directly above it on the front end is something that has just recently been filled, and I don’t see it coming open anytime soon.  Perhaps a move to a different company may be better.  At least one opportunity has already presented itself so we’ll see how that goes.

2013 promises to be an interesting year, a journey that I look forward to sharing with those of you who read this.

2 Responses to “2013”

  1. Brandon Foreman January 14, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    A lot of people consider you to be extremely lucky. Then again, I also survived the Rapture and the Mayan Apocalypse too. However, I haven’t had any surgeries yet. For you to survive 4 brain surgeries, you are definitely lucky.

    I also need to Read More myself. Apparently, my mind is too impatient to read books as of late but perhaps things can change. I plan to go to the library more often though. I can think better there rather than here.

    Sleeping better and Third Shifts don’t mix. Once you get off doing overnight shifts consistency, then you can work on sleeping better. I mean, I started doing overnight shifts recently and I know what it takes to get ready for it (since some people I know still don’t understand). I wish you the best of luck in getting off overnight shifts (since I believe there are processes in the works for that).

    New Job? Well, I can see your reasons quite well and I understand. I believe I need to start looking for another job or at least have a second job because I am lacking the needed hours for me to do my big goal of 2013, which is moving out.

    I wish you the best of luck and I hope that you will succeed in at least one of your Resolutions in 2013.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TalkBack: 2013 | Athens Talking Head (ATH) - January 14, 2013

    […] ← 2013 Jan 14 2013 […]

Leave a Reply

